Appendix: Works Cited


  • Allstate/National Journal, February 2015, Heartland Monitor Poll XXII, http://heartlandmonitor.com/wp- content/uploads/2015/03/FTI-Allstate-NJ-Heartland-XXII-Poll-Topline-Results-Feb-27.pdf.
  • Anzalone Liszt, Grove Research/The Leadership Conference Education Fund, October 2015, Poll Finds Strong Support for Strict Guidelines and Community Input for Body-Worn Cameras, for Banning Racial Profiling and for Reforming Civil Asset Forfeiture Laws, http://civilrightsdocs.info/pdf/criminal- justice/LCEFPollonCriminalJusticeIssues.pdf.
  • AP & NORC, Issue Brief: “Crime and Law Enforcement in America: Racial and Ethnic Differences in Attitudes Towards the Criminal Justice System, 2015, http://www.apnorc.org/PDFs/Crime/Crime%20Trends_FINAL.pdf.
  • Baker, T., et al., 2015, “Examining Public Preferences for the Allocation of Resources to Rehabilitative Versus Punitive Crime Policies,” Criminal Justice Policy Review, 265, 448-462.
  • Benenson Strategy Group/ACLU, July 2015, Memo to Interested Parties: Nationwide Polling Results. https://www.aclu.org/sites/default/files/field_document/aclu_polling_cjreform_2015.pdf.
  • Benenson Strategy Group/ACLU, January 2016, Research on voters’ attitudes towards violence in the criminal justice system. On file with The Opportunity Agenda.
  • CBS News Poll, December 2014, Michael Brown and Eric Garner: The Police, Use of Force, and Race, http://www.cbsnews.com/news/michael-brown-and-eric-garner-the-police-use-of-force-and-race/.
  • Charles Koch Institute/Prison Fellowship, 2016, Criminal Justice Reform in Virginia, https://www.charleskochinstitute.org/prison-fellowship-and-the-charles-koch-institute-release-results-of-new- virginia-public-opinion-survey-on-criminal-justice/.
  • CNN, November 2014, Poll finds racial divide over Wilson charges, http://www.cnn.com/2014/11/24/politics/ferguson-wilson-cnn-poll/.
  • CNN/Kaiser Family Foundation, November 2015, Survey of Americans on Race, http://files.kff.org/attachment/topline-methodology-survey-of-americans-on-race.
  • Drakulich, K.M., Kirk, E.M., 2016, “Public Opinion and Criminal Justice Reform: Framing Matters,” Criminology & Public Policy, 151, 1-7.
  • Gallup, November 2014, Most Americans Still See Crime Up Over Last Year, http://www.gallup.com/poll/179546/americans-crime-last-year.aspx.
  • Gallup, June 2015, In U.S., Confidence in Police Lowest in 22 Years, http://www.gallup.com/poll/183704/confidence- police-lowest-years.aspx.
  • Gallup Organization, In Depth Topics A to Z: Death Penalty, http://www.gallup.com/poll/1606/death-penalty.aspx.
  • Gallup, August 2015, Immigrant Status Tied to Discrimination Among Hispanics, http://www.gallup.com/poll/184769/immigrant-status-tied-discrimination-among-hispanics.aspx.
  • Gallup, August 2015, Americans’ Satisfaction With Way Blacks Treated Tumbles, http://www.gallup.com/poll/184466/americans-satisfaction-blacks-treated-tumbles.aspx.
  • Gallup, October 2015, More Americans Say Crime is Rising in U.S., http://www.gallup.com/poll/186308/americans- say-crime-rising.aspx.
  • Gallup, December 2015, Americans’ Faith in Honesty, Ethics of Police Rebounds, http://www.gallup.com/poll/187874/americans-faith-honesty-ethics-police-rebounds.aspx.
  • Harvard Institute of Politics, March 2015, Young Americans’ Attitudes towards Politics and Public Service Survey, http://www.iop.harvard.edu/sites/default/files_new/IOPSpring15%20PollTopline.pdf  .
  • The Henry L. Kaiser Family Foundation, August 2015, Kaiser Health Tracking Poll, http://kff.org/health-costs/poll- finding/kaiser-health-tracking-poll-august-2015/.
  • The Henry L. Kaiser Family Foundation, February 2016, Kaiser Health Tracking Poll, .http://kff.org/global-health- policy/poll-finding/kaiser-health-tracking-poll-february-2016/
  • Marist College Institute for Public Opinion September 2015, Issues 2016: Immigration Reform and Race Relations, http://maristpoll.marist.edu/wp-content/misc/usapolls/us150826/Immigration/MSNBC_Telemundo_Marist
    %20Poll_National%20Release%20and%20Tables_September%202015_Immigration.pdf.
  • MassINC Polling Group/Massachusetts Criminal Justice Reform Coalition, January 2014, Ready for Reform? Public Opinion on Criminal Justice in Massachusetts, http://www.massincpolling.com/?p=1334.
  • McClatchy-Marist Poll, December 2014, Ferguson and Beyond: Race Permeates Views of Law Enforcement, http://maristpoll.marist.edu/1215-ferguson-and-beyond-race-permeates-views-of-law-enforcement/.
  • The Mellman Group/Public Opinion Strategies/The Pew Charitable Trusts, February 2016, National Survey Key Findings—Federal Sentencing & Prisons, http://www.pewtrusts.org/~/media/assets/2016/02/national_survey_key_findings_
    federal_sentencing_prisons.pdf.
  • The Mellman Group/Public Opinion Strategies/The Pew Charitable Trusts, February 2016, Kansas Survey Key Findings on Juvenile Corrections Issues, http://www.pewtrusts.org/~/media/assets/2016/03/public_attitudes_toward_juvenile_
    justice_in_kansas.pdf.
  • NBC News Poll, May 2014, http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/lethal-injection/americans-weigh-lethal-injections- n105501.
  • The Opportunity Agenda and Langer Research Associates, The Opportunity Survey, February–March 2014, http://opportunity-survey.opportunityagenda.org/.
  • PBS NewsHour/Marist Poll, “Race Relations in the United States,” September 2015, https://maristpoll.marist.edu/wp-content/misc/usapolls/us150910/PBS%20NewsHour_Marist%20Poll_National%20Release_
    September%202015.pdf.
  • Pew Research Center, February 2014, America’s New Drug Policy Landscape, http://www.people- press.org/2014/04/02/americas-new-drug-policy-landscape/.
  • Pew Research Center, August 2014, Stark Racial Divisions in Reactions to Ferguson Police Shooting, http://www.people-press.org/2014/08/18/stark-racial-divisions-in-reactions-to-ferguson-police-shooting/.
  • Pew Research Center, March 2015, Political Survey, http://www.people-press.org/files/2015/04/04-16-15-Death- penalty-topline-for-release.pdf.
  • Pew Research Center, April 2015, Divide between blacks and whites on police runs deep, http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2015/04/28/blacks-whites-police/.
  • Pew Research Center, May 2015, Multiple Causes Seen for Baltimore Unrest, http://www.people- press.org/2015/05/04/multiple-causes-seen-for-baltimore-unrest/.
  • Pew Research Center, January 2016, Budget Deficit Slips as Public Priority, http://www.people- press.org/2016/01/22/budget-deficit-slips-as-public-priority/.
  • Pickett, J.T., et al., 2012, “Reconsidering the Relationship Between Perceived Neighborhood Racial Composition and Whites’ Perceptions of Victimization Risk: Do Racial Stereotypes Matter?” Criminology, 501, 145-175.
  • Pickett, J.T., 2015, “On the Social Foundations for Crimmigration: Latino Threat and Support for Expanded Police Powers,” Springer Science + Business Media New York.
  • Pickett, J.T., 2016, “Reintegrative Populism? Public Opinion and the Criminology of Downsizing,” Criminology & Public Policy, 151, 1-5.
  • Public Policy Polling/Drug Policy Alliance, January 2016, New Hampshire Survey Results, http://www.drugpolicy.org/sites/default/files/NHResults_012616.pdf.
  • Public Policy Polling/Drug Policy Alliance, February 2016, Maine Survey Results, http://www.drugpolicy.org/sites/default/files/MaineResults_020916.pdf.
  • Public Policy Polling/Drug Policy Alliance. February 2016, South Carolina Survey Results, http://www.drugpolicy.org/sites/default/files/SC_poll_0216_PPP.pdf.
  • Public Religion Research Institute, November 2014, American Values Post-election Survey, http://publicreligion.org/site/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/AVS-Post-election-TOPLINE-FINAL1.pdf.
  • Public Religion Research Institute, September-October 2015, American Values Survey, http://publicreligion.org/research/2015/11/survey-anxiety-nostalgia-and-mistrust-findings-from-the-2015-american- values-survey/#.VvxF0-IrLZ4.
  • Quinnipiac University Poll, June 2015, Quinnipiac University National Poll Finds Less Support for Death Penalty— Except for Terrorism, http://www.quinnipiac.edu/news-and-events/quinnipiac-university-poll/national/release- detail?ReleaseID=2229.
  • Ramirez, M.D., 2013, “Punitive Sentiment,” Criminology, 512, 329-364.
  • Ramirez, M.D., 2013, “The Polls-Trends: Americans’ Changing Views on Crime and Punishment,” Public Opinion Quarterly, Advance Access published December 10, 2013.
  • Reason-Rupe  Poll,  October  2014,  http://reason.com/poll/2014/10/09/october-2014-reason-rupe-poll-html.
  • Red Oak Strategic/Justice Action Network, November 2015, Overwhelming, Broad, and Extensive Support Across Party, Ideology, and Demographics for Criminal Justice Reform in New Louisiana Survey Findings, http://www.justiceactionnetwork.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/Justice-Action-Network-Louisiana-Survey.pdf.
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation/Latino Decisions, March 2015, Topline Results Latino National Health Survey, http://www.latinodecisions.com/files/1214/2707/3700/UNM_RWJF_Center_Toplines_Posted.pdf.
  • Roper Center, September 2015, Black, White, and Blue: Americans’ Attitudes on Race and Police, http://ropercenter.cornell.edu/black-white-blue-americans-attitudes-race-police/.
  • The Sentencing Project, September 2014, Race and Punishment: Racial Perceptions of Crime and Support for Punitive Policies, http://sentencingproject.org/doc/publications/rd_Race_and_Punishment.pdf.
  • Silber, Rebecca et al, Justice in Review: New Trends in State Sentencing and Corrections 2014–2015, the Vera Institute, May 2016, http://www.vera.org/sites/default/files/resources/downloads/state-sentencing-and-corrections- trends-2014-2015.pdf.
  • Suffolk University/USA Today, February 2016, National Poll, http://www.suffolk.edu/documents/SUPRC/2_17_2016_marginals.pdf.
  • Sundt J., Cullen, F.T., Thielo, A.J., Jonson, C.L., 2015, “Public Willingness to Downsize Prisons: Implications from Oregon,” Victims & Offenders, 10, 365-378.
  • The Tarrance Group/U.S. Justice Action Network, January 2016, Key findings from statewide surveys in Florida, North Carolina, Nevada, Kentucky, Missouri, and Wisconsin, http://www.justiceactionnetwork.org/wp- content/uploads/2016/02/Analysis-memo-All-states.pdf.
  • Thielo, A.J., et al., 2015, “Rehabilitation in a Red State: Public Support for Correctional Reform in Texas,” Criminology & Public Policy, 151, 1-34.
  • W.K. Kellogg Foundation, September-October 2014, National Survey of Latino Households, http://www.latinodecisions.com/files/3814/1582/4627/Topline_Results_WKKF_State_of_the_
    Latino_Family_2014.pdf.
  • WPA Opinion Research/Texas Public Policy Foundation, March 2015, Key Findings of Texas Criminal Justice Reform Survey, http://rightoncrime.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/TPPF_CriminalJusticeReformBenchmark.pdf.
  • YouGov/Huffington Post, July 2015, Poll Results: Police, https://today.yougov.com/news/2015/07/29/poll-results- police/.